Should you floss? A cost-benefit analysis

this economic argument for flossing is far more persuasive than the my dentist’s “because I said so.”

Robert Wiblin

If you are like most people I know, you don’t feel you floss enough. Each time you go to the dentist you get scolded for not flossing at least once a day. You promise to be a good patient but after a week or two go back to flossing every few days, if that. The last time I went to the dentist however I had two cavities and am supposedly at risk of more. The unpleasantness and cost of the experience got me thinking seriously about flossing every day, and for the last six months I have stuck to it.

But maybe I was right when I couldn’t be bothered flossing. What evidence do I actually have that flossing regularly is worth it, given the frequent if small inconvenience it involves?

Whether or not you floss on any particular occasion is a minor decision, but whether you do so over…

View original post 687 more words

Please tell Nichol and Dudley what you think:

