Strolls

Between stops B and C, I observed a rat asleep upon a cat asleep upon a dog asleep upon the sidewalk.

Between stops C and D, I observed a rat asleep upon a cat asleep upon a dog asleep upon the sidewalk.

Leaving my house at 11:30 a.m. for brunch, I did not return until 11:00 p.m.

It was not my original intention to spend such an extended time about the city, on a walk so circuitous and fatiguing that I was happy to hire a cab to take me home.

But old friends and engaging conversation led me easily from one location to the next, including a street fair; a surprise birthday party where, though I knew no one, the guests were friendly and obliging; a store in ChinaTown where I bought a mug in the shape of an owl; and a grocery store where an employee accused me of shoplifting, requesting over the loudspeaker that someone apprehend me before I run away.

In short, a gentleman’s time is his own. Although a gentleman is often distinguished by how efficiently he accomplishes tasks, he should be able to be decidedly aimless should circumstance require such.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Please tell Nichol and Dudley what you think:

